MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#10
Marcus Semien
AVG HR RBI
.249 5 20
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-0 / 195 NFBC ADP: 210.93
Position: SSBorn: 9/17/1990 Birthplace: San Francisco, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by White Sox (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 20 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Houston Astros 3-2. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
Aug. 20 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 4 with a double Saturday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Houston Astros 3-0. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: It's the fourth time in five games in which Semien has collected two hits. Though he hasn't hit for much power lately, the shortstop does own a .327 average (17 for 52) over his last 13 contests.
Aug. 18 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 4 Friday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 3-1. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
Aug. 16 5:16 PM PT6:16 PM MT7:16 PM CT8:16 PM ET20:16 ET0:16 GMT8:16 5:16 PM MST7:16 PM EST7:46 PM VEN4:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Semien went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: He's batting .341 over an 11-game stretch.
Aug. 16 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 5 with an RBI Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Kansas City Royals 10-8. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Aug. 15 10:22 AM PT11:22 AM MT12:22 PM CT1:22 PM ET13:22 ET17:22 GMT1:22 10:22 AM MST12:22 PM EST12:52 PM VEN21:22 UAE12:22 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 4 with a triple Monday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-2. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Aug. 13 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 3 with an RBI Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Baltimore Orioles 9-3. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
Aug. 13 9:26 AM PT10:26 AM MT11:26 AM CT12:26 PM ET12:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 3 with an RBI Saturday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Baltimore Orioles 12-5. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
Aug. 12 9:50 AM PT10:50 AM MT11:50 AM CT12:50 PM ET12:50 ET16:50 GMT0:50 9:50 AM MST11:50 AM EST12:20 PM VEN20:50 UAE11:50 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Friday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Aug. 11 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Baltimore Orioles 7-2. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Aug. 9 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-3. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
Aug. 9 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Seattle Mariners 7-6. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
Aug. 7 7:23 AM PT8:23 AM MT9:23 AM CT10:23 AM ET10:23 ET14:23 GMT22:23 7:23 AM MST9:23 AM EST9:53 AM VEN18:23 UAE9:23 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 6 with a double Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Los Angeles Angels 11-10. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
Analysis: Since his average dropped to .145 on July 18, Semien is batting .325 with three homers, three doubles and 10 RBIs in his last 18 games.
Aug. 6 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 3 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Los Angeles Angels 5-0. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Analysis: Semien is hitting .328 with three homers and 10 RBIs over his previous 16 games.
Aug. 5 9:58 AM PT10:58 AM MT11:58 AM CT12:58 PM ET12:58 ET16:58 GMT0:58 9:58 AM MST11:58 AM EST12:28 PM VEN20:58 UAE11:58 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 5 Friday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-6. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
Aug. 4 8:47 AM PT9:47 AM MT10:47 AM CT11:47 AM ET11:47 ET15:47 GMT23:47 8:47 AM MST10:47 AM EST11:17 AM VEN19:47 UAE10:47 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the San Francisco Giants 11-2. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Aug. 3 8:17 AM PT9:17 AM MT10:17 AM CT11:17 AM ET11:17 ET15:17 GMT23:17 8:17 AM MST10:17 AM EST10:47 AM VEN19:17 UAE10:17 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics topped the San Francisco Giants 6-1. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
Aug. 2 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the San Francisco Giants 10-4. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Aug. 1 10:47 PM PT11:47 PM MT12:47 AM CT1:47 AM ET1:47 ET5:47 GMT13:47 10:47 PM MST12:47 AM EST1:17 AM VEN9:47 UAE12:47 AM CT-Semien went 2 for 5 with a home run and four RBIs Monday as the Oakland Athletics topped the San Francisco Giants 8-5. The homer was his fourth of the season. Semien scored twice. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: Semien hit a grand slam off reliever George Kontos in the sixth inning, and the Oakland Athletics held on to beat the San Francisco Giants.
July 31 8:11 AM PT9:11 AM MT10:11 AM CT11:11 AM ET11:11 ET15:11 GMT23:11 8:11 AM MST10:11 AM EST10:41 AM VEN19:11 UAE10:11 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 6 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Minnesota Twins 6-5. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
July 30 10:55 AM PT11:55 AM MT12:55 PM CT1:55 PM ET13:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE12:55 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Minnesota Twins 5-4. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
July 29 10:02 AM PT11:02 AM MT12:02 PM CT1:02 PM ET13:02 ET17:02 GMT1:02 10:02 AM MST12:02 PM EST12:32 PM VEN21:02 UAE12:02 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-3. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
July 27 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 3 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
Analysis: Semien has gone 12 for 27 with two home runs and six RBIs over his last seven games.
July 26 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
Analysis: Semien is 9 for 23 (.391) with two homers, five RBIs, five runs scored and two steals in his last six games.
July 25 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1. He ended the game with a .204 batting average.
July 24 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 3 Monday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .202 batting average.
July 23 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the New York Mets 3-2. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: Semien is 8 for 17 with three RBIs, five runs scored and two stolen bases over his last four games.
July 22 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the New York Mets 6-5. Semien scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .195 batting average.
July 21 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Semien went 4 for 5 with two RBIs Friday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the New York Mets 7-5. Semien scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .192 batting average.
Analysis: He had two hits in his previous seven games.
July 19 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Tampa Bay Rays 7-2. Semien scored twice. He ended the game with a .151 batting average.
July 19 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3. He ended the game with a .145 batting average.
July 18 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 4 Monday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2. He ended the game with a .152 batting average.
July 16 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 3 with a double Sunday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Cleveland Indians 7-3. Semien scored once. He ended the game with a .161 batting average.
July 16 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Cleveland Indians 5-3. He ended the game with a .153 batting average.
Analysis: Semien does possess intriguing power, but he hasn't shown much of it since returning from a wrist injury earlier this month. The shortstop is 3 for 24 with 10 strikeouts in six games since coming off the DL.
July 15 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Cleveland Indians 5-0. He ended the game with a .164 batting average.
July 9 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Seattle Mariners 4-0. He ended the game with a .173 batting average.
July 9 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Seattle Mariners 4-3. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .188 batting average.
July 8 11:21 AM PT12:21 PM MT1:21 PM CT2:21 PM ET14:21 ET18:21 GMT2:21 11:21 AM MST1:21 PM EST1:51 PM VEN22:21 UAE1:21 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Friday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Seattle Mariners 7-2. He ended the game with a .186 batting average.
Analysis: It was the second game off the DL for Semien, who had driven in only one run in his 11 games before getting hurt.
July 7 10:00 AM PT11:00 AM MT12:00 PM CT1:00 PM ET13:00 ET17:00 GMT1:00 10:00 AM MST12:00 PM EST12:30 PM VEN21:00 UAE12:00 PM CT-Marcus Semien went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Seattle Mariners 7-4. Semien scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .179 batting average.
Analysis: In his first game off the DL after missing 74 games for a broken wrist, Semien walked and scored during Oakland's three-run first inning before having a single and stealing second to open a four-run fifth. ''You look at our lineup and all of a sudden it looks like it's got a little more length and some more oomph in it,'' manager Bob Melvin said. ''So, it's good to get him back. Obviously, we've missed him.''
Apr. 15 6:21 PM PT7:21 PM MT8:21 PM CT9:21 PM ET21:21 ET1:21 GMT9:21 6:21 PM MST8:21 PM EST8:51 PM VEN5:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Semien (right wrist surgery) was taken off the 60-day DL on Thursday.
Analysis: Semien hasn't played since April 14. He hit .171 with one RBIs in his first 11 games.
Apr. 14 11:48 AM PT12:48 PM MT1:48 PM CT2:48 PM ET14:48 ET18:48 GMT2:48 11:48 AM MST1:48 PM EST2:18 PM VEN22:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-Semien's early-season slump continued with Thursday's 0-for-4 performance against the Royals.
Analysis: The power-hitting shortstop finished the three-game series 0 for 11 and is now batting .152 with 11 strikeouts in 33 at-bats. Semien also has yet to homer after hitting a career-high 27 last season, though he has come up with four steals through the first 10 games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 CWS 21 69 7 18 4 0 2 7 1 22 2 2 .261 .268 .406
2014 CWS 64 231 30 54 10 2 6 28 21 70 3 0 .234 .300 .372
2015 Oak 155 556 65 143 23 7 15 45 42 132 11 5 .257 .310 .405
2016 Oak 159 568 72 135 27 2 27 75 51 139 10 2 .238 .300 .435
2017 Oak 51 197 29 49 9 1 5 20 25 55 7 0 .249 .333 .381
Career 450 1621 203 399 73 12 55 175 140 418 33 9 .246 .306 .408


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.