MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
3.86 2-1 19
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 376.86
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Bellevue, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
Apr. 29 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 5:55 PM PT6:55 PM MT7:55 PM CT8:55 PM ET20:55 ET0:55 GMT8:55 5:55 PM MST7:55 PM EST8:25 PM VEN4:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Boyd scattered seven hits while holding the Indians to one run over six innings to pick up his second win of the season.
Analysis: After being rocked for five runs in 2 1/3 innings by the White Sox in his season debut, Boyd has yielded just one run over 12 innings to win back-to-back outings. He'll face a Minnesota team he dominated in his previous start when he next takes the mound Saturday at Target Field.
Apr. 11 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Boyd allowed one hit in six outstanding innings of Tuesday's 2-1 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Boyd recovered nicely after giving up five runs in 2 1/3 innings in his first start of the season against the Chicago White Sox last week. The Tigers picked him over the more experienced Anibal Sanchez for a spot in the rotation, and they'll hope this start was more indicative of what he'll provide going forward.
Apr. 6 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Boyd had a poor season debut Thursday against the White Sox, allowing five runs and five hits with four walks over 2 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Boyd is 7-12 with a 6.03 ERA in 31 career starts. He's allowed a whopping 35 home runs over 150 2/3 innings in those games.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 2 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 25.2 25 11 11 3 13 0 19 1.48 3.86
Career 9 12 0 - 0 38 35 0 180.1 193 112 108 37 62 0 144 1.41 5.39



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 205 95 87 91.2 45.15
Curveball 52 78 72 75.5 11.45
Slider 80 89 82 85.8 17.62
Changeup 117 84 79 81 25.77

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.