MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#0
Mallex Smith
AVG HR RBI
.292 2 8
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 5-10 / 180 NFBC ADP: 349.21
Position: CFBorn: 5/6/1993 Birthplace: Tallahassee, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 5th Round by Padres (2012)


Latest News
July 23 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 2 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Texas Rangers 6-5. Smith scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
Analysis: Smith went just 2 for 28 with one RBIs in his previous nine games.
July 23 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Texas Rangers 4-3. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
July 21 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Texas Rangers 4-3. The homer was his second of the season. Smith stole a base. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
Analysis: Smith, who hit his first home run since June 9, is 2 for 25 in his last eight games.
July 19 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Smith went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Oakland Athletics 7-2. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
Analysis: Smith is 1 for 20 following the All-Star break.
July 19 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 0 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 4-3. Smith scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .301 batting average.
July 18 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 4 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 3-2. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .301 batting average.
July 16 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-3. He ended the game with a .311 batting average.
July 16 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 5 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Los Angeles Angels 6-3. Smith scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .320 batting average.
July 15 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 3 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Los Angeles Angels 2-1. He ended the game with a .325 batting average.
July 9 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Boston Red Sox 5-3. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
July 8 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Smith went 2 for 4 with a triple Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Boston Red Sox 1-0. He ended the game with a .336 batting average.
Analysis: He is 12 for 29 over a six-game stretch.
July 7 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-3. He ended the game with a .330 batting average.
Analysis: Smith is 10 for 25 (.400) with five runs scored and two steals over a six-game hit streak.
July 7 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Boston Red Sox 4-1. Smith added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
July 5 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Smith went 4 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Chicago Cubs 7-3. Smith scored three times and stole a base. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Analysis: The four hits are a career high for Smith.
July 2 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-1. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
July 1 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 2 for 5 with a double Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Baltimore Orioles 10-3. Smith scored twice. He ended the game with a .310 batting average.
June 30 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 5 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Baltimore Orioles 6-4. He ended the game with a .305 batting average.
June 29 7:17 AM PT8:17 AM MT9:17 AM CT10:17 AM ET10:17 ET14:17 GMT22:17 7:17 AM MST9:17 AM EST9:47 AM VEN18:17 UAE9:17 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 5 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-2. He ended the game with a .311 batting average.
Analysis: Since stringing together a 12-game hitting streak upon returning to the majors, Smith is 3 for 19 over his last five games and 0 for 10 thus far in this series. The speedy outfielder is still hitting .328 (22 for 67) with 14 runs scored and six stolen bases since his recall.
June 27 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2. He ended the game with a .329 batting average.
June 25 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 2 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 8-5. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .350 batting average.
June 24 6:00 PM PT7:00 PM MT8:00 PM CT9:00 PM ET21:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 6:00 PM MST8:00 PM EST8:30 PM VEN5:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Smith went 2 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Baltimore Orioles 8-3. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .346 batting average.
Analysis: Smith has done a nice job replacing the injured Kevin Kiermaier, and should be a fantasy must at this point.
June 23 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 0 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Baltimore Orioles 15-5. Smith scored twice. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
June 21 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 2 for 5 with an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Cincinnati Reds 8-3. Smith added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .352 batting average.
Analysis: Smith has done nothing but hit since being recalled from Triple-A on June 9. The speedster is batting .396 (19 for 48) with 10 runs scored and six stolen bases over a 12-game hitting streak following his promotion.
June 19 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 4 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-3. He ended the game with a .348 batting average.
Analysis: Smith has done nothing but hit since being recalled from Triple-A on June 9. The speedster is batting .395 (17 for 43) with 10 runs scored and five stolen bases over an 11-game hitting streak following his promotion.
June 19 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Detroit Tigers 9-1. Smith added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .355 batting average.
Analysis: Smith extended his hitting streak to 10 games, a stretch in which he's batting .410.
June 17 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET20:56 ET0:56 GMT8:56 5:56 PM MST7:56 PM EST8:26 PM VEN4:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 2 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Detroit Tigers 3-2. He ended the game with a .368 batting average.
Analysis: Smith has done nothing but hit since being recalled from Triple-A last week. The speedster is batting a torrid .441 (15 for 34) with 10 runs scored and four stolen bases over a nine-game hitting streak following his promotion.
June 16 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 2 for 3 with a triple Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 13-4. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .358 batting average.
Analysis: Smith is 13 for 30 (.433) with a homer and three RBIs during an eight-game hitting streak.
June 15 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Smith went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-3. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .340 batting average.
Analysis: Smith might be worth a look, especially in fantasy AL-only leagues.
June 14 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .348 batting average.
Analysis: Smith is 10 for 23 with a homer, three RBIs and a double during a six-game hitting streak.
June 13 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 5 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Toronto Blue Jays 8-1. Smith scored once. He ended the game with a .357 batting average.
June 11 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 3 for 3 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 5-4. Smith scored twice. He ended the game with a .378 batting average.
Analysis: Smith, recalled from Triple-A Durham on Friday to fill in for injured Gold Glove center fielder Kevin Kiermaier, also walked and went 8 for 14 in the series.
June 10 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Smith went 2 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Oakland Athletics 7-2. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Analysis: Smith might be worth adding, for starters in AL-only fantasy leagues. Monitor his progress in other formats.
June 10 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 1 for 5 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 6-5. Smith scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .290 batting average.
June 9 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Mallex Smith went 2 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 13-4. The homer was his first of the season. Smith scored three times and stole three bases. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
Analysis: Smith was recalled earlier in the day when the Rays placed Kevin Kiermaier on the DL. Kiermaier is out at least two months with a fractured right hip, so expect Smith to see plenty of action in the outfield.
Apr. 14 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Smith (hamstring) was activated from the DL on Thursday and optioned to Triple-A Durham with Colby Rasmus close to a return from his injury.
Analysis: Smith went 6 for 22 with three steals in eight games prior to getting hurt against the Yankees on April 13.
Apr. 8 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Smith got on base five straight times and scored on Brad Miller's walk to end it in Saturday's 3-2, 11-inning win over the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Smith has gone 4 for 12 in four games with a .467 on-base percentage. The job is all his in left field after Colby Rasmus was released.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Atl 72 189 28 45 7 4 3 22 20 48 16 8 .238 .316 .365
2017 TB 45 154 27 45 5 3 2 8 17 33 15 4 .292 .363 .403
Career 117 343 55 90 12 7 5 30 37 81 31 12 .262 .337 .382


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.