MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Michael Fulmer
ERA W-L K
3.83 10-12 114
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 144.45
Position: SPBorn: 3/15/1993 Birthplace: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Mets (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 11 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-The Tigers say Fulmer will undergo elbow surgery on Tuesday and miss the rest of the season.
Analysis: The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year is having a damaged nerve fixed by Dr. James Andrews in Florida. Manager Brad Ausmus said Monday that the All-Star will not throw for ''three or four months,'' but that the 24-year-old is expected to make a full recovery and should be ready for spring training. Fulmer made his last start on Aug. 29. He went 10-12 with a 3.83 ERA in 25 starts. The right-hander, who had been experiencing numbness in his fingers, lost his last six decisions.
Sep. 1 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Fulmer will miss at least two starts with a recurrence of numbness in his pitching fingers.
Analysis: The right-hander is scheduled to see Dr. James Andrews next week, ostensibly to determine whether surgery is needed to correct his ulnar nerve. Inflammation around the nerve placed Fulmer on the disabled list in August, but tests showed no structural damage at that time.
Aug. 30 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Fulmer fell to 10-12, allowing five runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-3 on Tuesday.
Analysis: Fulmer struck out three, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Michael Fulmer allowed five runs - four earned - on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 10-6 on Thursday. Fulmer struck out three, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: There were three bench-clearing incidents and Fuller might have been the catalyst for it all. The problems probably began when Fulmer hit Sanchez with a pitch in the fifth, an inning after Sanchez had homered for the fourth time in this three-game series. Fulmer looked like he might be hurt after throwing that pitch, and he was checked by the trainer before staying in the game.
Aug. 19 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 10-11, allowing one run - zero earned - on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-0 on Saturday. Fulmer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer deserved a better fate after being touched for an unearned run in the seventh inning, but instead was dealt a fifth consecutive losing start. On the positive side, the 2016 AL Rookie of the Year did throw 105 pitches in his second outing back from an elbow issue, and he had posted a troubling 7.89 ERA over his previous four starts.
Aug. 14 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 10-10, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Monday. Fulmer struck out two, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer is 0-4 with a 7.89 ERA in his last four starts after going 4-0 with a 2.35 mark in his previous four.
Aug. 3 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Fulmer (elbow) is slated to come off the DL on Monday and start in Texas.
Analysis: Fulmer, the 2016 AL rookie of the year, had been dealing with elbow discomfort for years before it worsened during his last start July 31. An MRI revealed fluid around the elbow, but there's no ligament damage. Fulmer is 10-9 with a 3.59 ERA in 21 starts.
July 31 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 10-9, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits and three walks in six-plus innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the New York Yankees 7-3 on Monday. Fulmer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer was roughed up for four runs in the fourth inning and two more in the seventh in his second straight disappointing road start. The reigning AL Rookie of the Year was pounded for eight runs - five earned - in a season-low 2 2/3 innings at Kansas City on July 20. Now on a three-start losing streak, he'll pitch away from home again when he faces the Orioles in Baltimore on Saturday.
July 25 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 10-8, allowing three runs on eight hits in 8.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Tuesday. Fulmer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer has 17 quality starts in 20 outings this season. One sign of his ability to pitch deep into games is the fact that he has only two no-decisions, and none since April 29.
July 21 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 10-7, allowing eight runs - five earned - on seven hits and one walk in 2.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 16-4 on Thursday. Fulmer struck out two, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer, the 2016 AL Rookie of the Year, threw 37 pitches in the first. The heat index was 107 when the game started. Fulmer, who had won his previous four starts, was removed after facing 18 batters. He retired only eight, and eight scored. It was the shortest outing of his career.
July 15 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Michael Fulmer improved to 10-6, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 11-1 on Saturday. Fulmer struck out three, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year who earned his first All-Star selection this season, Fulmer has won four straight starts and has a 2.15 ERA over his last five outings.
July 10 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Michael Fulmer improved to 9-6, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Sunday. Fulmer struck out one, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer won't pitch for the AL in Miami on Tuesday night, so he made the most of a nationally televised matchup against Corey Kluber by beating the Central-leading Indians. He won his third start in a row.
July 4 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Michael Fulmer improved to 8-6, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Tuesday. Fulmer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer has been a horse for the Tigers, posting a 2.67 ERA over his last four starts.
June 29 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Michael Fulmer improved to 7-6, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits in 8.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Thursday. Fulmer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer came within one out of a shutout. Fulmer retired the first nine Kansas City hitters, and the reigning AL Rookie of the Year faced only one batter above the minimum through eight innings.
June 24 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 6-6, allowing one run on two hits and four walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the San Diego Padres 1-0 on Friday. Fulmer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer continues to be victimized by Detroit's struggling offense. The reigning AL Rookie of the Year has lost three straight outings and is 1-5 during a six-start stretch in which the Tigers have totaled six runs in those five defeats. He's recorded four quality starts during that period and may be the least of the team's concerns right now.
June 17 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 6-5, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 6.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Saturday. Fulmer struck out three, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer held the Rays to one run over the first six innings before faltering in the seventh and being dealt a fourth loss in his last five starts. The reigning AL Rookie of the Year owns a pedestrian 4.64 ERA during that stretch while managing only 17 strikeouts in 33 innings.
June 14 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-Fulmer had an MRI on his sore right shoulder last Friday, followed by a cortisone shot to calm down bursitis.
Analysis: "He's locked in to start Saturday," manager Brad Ausmus said. His regular turn would have been Wednesday.
June 8 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 6-4, allowing five runs on nine hits in 4.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-4 on Thursday. Fulmer struck out one, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was his shortest outing of the season after pitching at least six innings in each of his first 11 starts. Fulmer is 2-3 with a 4.59 ERA in his last five outings while allowing 43 hits over 33 1/3 innings.
June 2 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Fulmer improved to 6-3, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 15-5 on Friday.
Analysis: Fulmer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 27 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Fulmer fell to 5-3, allowing three runs on nine hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-0 on Saturday in Game 1 of a doubleheader.
Analysis: Fulmer struck out four, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 23 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Michael Fulmer fell to 5-2, allowing one run on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 1-0 on Monday. Fulmer struck out four, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The reigning AL Rookie of the Year was a tough-luck loser Monday as four Houston pitchers combined on a one-hit shutout. It was his ninth quality start in as many appearances. He has a 2.06 ERA in five starts on the road, and Fulmer is next scheduled to face the White Sox in Chicago on Saturday.
May 17 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Michael Fulmer improved to 5-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on 10 hits in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Wednesday. Fulmer struck out four, ending the game with a 2.72 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer allowed more than three runs for the first time this season, and gave up a season-high in hits. He also lasted art least seven innings for the fourth time in his last five starts.
May 12 6:43 AM PT7:43 AM MT8:43 AM CT9:43 AM ET9:43 ET13:43 GMT21:43 6:43 AM MST8:43 AM EST9:13 AM VEN17:43 UAE8:43 AM CT-Fulmer improved to 4-1, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-1 on Thursday. Fulmer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer was largely outstanding to improve to 3-0 in his last four starts. "My goal is to get deep into games and throw strikes and not give up quality contact," Fulmer said.
May 6 9:43 AM PT10:43 AM MT11:43 AM CT12:43 PM ET12:43 ET16:43 GMT0:43 9:43 AM MST11:43 AM EST12:13 PM VEN20:43 UAE11:43 AM CT-Michael Fulmer improved to 3-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on eight hits and two walks in 8.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-2 on Friday. Fulmer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Fulmer has been very good and very consistent so far for the Tigers, who desperately need another front-line starter.
Apr. 29 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Fulmer allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 6 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Fulmer struck out three, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET20:46 ET0:46 GMT8:46 5:46 PM MST7:46 PM EST8:16 PM VEN4:46 UAE (+1)7:46 PM CT-Fulmer notched his fourth quality start in as many outings this season, allowing two runs and four hits over seven innings Sunday in a win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Fulmer has surrendered three earned runs or fewer in 25 of his 30 career starts.
Apr. 18 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Fulmer allowed three runs and six hits in six innings in Tuesday's 5-1 loss to the Rays.
Analysis: Fulmer, last season's AL Rookie of the Year, will make his next start Sunday at Minnesota. In his previous start on April 12, Fulmer allowed three runs while striking out seven over six innings to beat the Twins.
Apr. 12 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Fulmer beat the Twins on Wednesday as he gave up three runs and four hits in six innings, walking one and striking out seven.
Analysis: Fulmer allowed all of the runs in the first three innings but recovered to retire the final 10 batters he faced. He's posted a pair of solid six-inning efforts to begin the season.
Apr. 7 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Fulmer pitched six scoreless innings Friday but didn't get a decision against Boston. The reigning American League Rookie of the Year allowed four hits and two walks, striking out four.
Analysis: Fulmer went 11-7 with a 3.06 ERA in 26 starts last season.
Mar. 17 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Fulmer told reporters after Friday's spring training outing his right ankle is 100 percent and he'll be ready for the start of the regular season.
Analysis: The 2016 AL Rookie of the Year, who missed a turn earlier this month after spraining his ankle during an agility drill, threw 59 pitches while allowing three runs and four hits over 3 1/3 innings against the Yankees. "Obviously he didn't have his command for whatever reason, but he got his pitches in," Tigers manager Brad Ausmus said. "He's progressing, his velocity was good."
Mar. 5 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Fulmer will miss his scheduled start on Monday after spraining his right ankle during workouts over the weekend.
Analysis: Fulmer rolled his ankle during agility drills on Saturday, prompting manager Brad Ausmus to announce that he was holding last season's American League Rookie of the Year out of Monday's game against the Orioles. "He's going to miss a start," Ausmus said on Sunday. "We don't expect it to be more than one start."

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Det 11 7 0 - 0 26 26 1 159.0 136 57 54 16 42 1 132 1.12 3.06
2017 Det 10 12 0 - 0 25 25 1 164.2 150 80 70 13 40 2 114 1.15 3.83
Career 21 19 0 - 0 51 51 2 323.2 286 137 124 29 82 3 246 1.14 3.45

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Det 26 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Det 25 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 51 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1470 99 92 95.8 59.3
Curveball 12 80 77 78.5 .48
Slider 528 94 85 89.4 21.3
Changeup 469 91 84 87.8 18.92

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.