MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#58
José Martínez
AVG HR RBI
.277 6 18
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-7 / 225 NFBC ADP: 607.58
Position: 1BBorn: 7/25/1988 Birthplace: La Guaira, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by White Sox (2006)


Latest News
July 24 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 1 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Colorado Rockies 8-2. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
July 21 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Martinez was struck on the left side of his head by teammate Matt Carpenter's eighth-inning foul ball while he was sitting in the dugout Friday at Wrigley Field. He was taken back to the clubhouse for concussion testing.
Analysis: ''The thing was really quick, quick and painful,'' Martinez said. ''But everything feels better right now and trying to stay like this `til tomorrow. Doctor's going to keeping having to keep an eye on me and see what's going to be the symptoms tomorrow.''
July 19 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the New York Mets 7-3. Martinez scored once. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
July 15 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 3 Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
July 6 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 4 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Miami Marlins 4-3. Martinez scored once. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
July 6 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 2 for 4 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Miami Marlins 9-6. Martinez scored twice. He ended the game with a .281 batting average.
Analysis: Martinez had been 2 for 13 over an eight-game stretch before going 3 for 5 in his last two.
July 4 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 1 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 5-2. He ended the game with a .274 batting average.
July 3 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 1 Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Washington Nationals 7-2. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
July 2 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE11:13 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 4 Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Washington Nationals 2-1. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
June 29 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 5 with two RBIs Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-4. Martinez scored once. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
June 29 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE12:34 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 1 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
June 28 10:12 AM PT11:12 AM MT12:12 PM CT1:12 PM ET13:12 ET17:12 GMT1:12 10:12 AM MST12:12 PM EST12:42 PM VEN21:12 UAE12:12 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5. He ended the game with a .276 batting average.
June 26 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 1 Monday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Cincinnati Reds 8-2. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
June 25 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 3 Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-3. Martinez scored once. He ended the game with a .282 batting average.
June 24 8:35 AM PT9:35 AM MT10:35 AM CT11:35 AM ET11:35 ET15:35 GMT23:35 8:35 AM MST10:35 AM EST11:05 AM VEN19:35 UAE10:35 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
Analysis: Martinez doesn't play every day but has been quite productive when in the lineup, especially of late. The 28-year-old rookie is 10 for 32 (.313) with four homers and nine RBIs over his last 10 games.
June 22 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET19:50 GMT3:50 12:50 PM MST2:50 PM EST3:20 PM VEN23:50 UAE2:50 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 3 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
June 22 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 2 for 2 with a double, a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6. The homer was his fourth of the season. Martinez scored twice. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
Analysis: He is 5 for 11 over a four-game stretch.
June 20 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Philadelphia Phillies 8-1. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
June 17 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 4 Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 15-7. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 16 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Baltimore Orioles 11-2. Martinez scored twice. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
June 16 7:41 AM PT8:41 AM MT9:41 AM CT10:41 AM ET10:41 ET14:41 GMT22:41 7:41 AM MST9:41 AM EST10:11 AM VEN18:41 UAE9:41 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 4 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-4. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
June 15 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 4 with a triple and two RBIs Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-6. Martinez scored once. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
June 14 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 3 with an RBI Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-5. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
June 13 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 2 for 3 with two home runs and three RBIs Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Milwaukee Brewers 6-0 in Game 1 of a doubleheader. The homers were his second and third of the season. He ended the game with a .282 batting average.
Analysis: Martinez came in 3 for 20 with two RBIs in eight games since being taken off the DL on May 29.
June 7 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Cincinnati Reds 6-4. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
June 6 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 13-1. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
June 5 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 1 Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-6. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
June 3 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Chicago Cubs 5-3. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
May 31 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
May 6 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Martinez (left groin) was activated off the DL on Monday and went 0 for 3 in the Cardinals' 5-1 loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Martinez last played May 6 in Atlanta. He's batting .294 in 21 games.
May 6 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 2 for 6 with two doubles Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Atlanta Braves 10-0. Martinez scored twice. He ended the game with a .319 batting average.
Analysis: Martinez started in right field, leaving left fielder Randal Grichuck as the only regular in the outfield. Martinez will be given every opportunity to play with Dexter Fowler and Stephen Piscotty sidelined.
May 5 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Jose Martinez went 0 for 3 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4. He ended the game with a .317 batting average.
Apr. 27 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Jose Martinez went 1 for 5 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 in the opener of a doubleheader. Martinez scored once. He ended the game with a .351 batting average.
Apr. 19 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET20:47 ET0:47 GMT8:47 5:47 PM MST7:47 PM EST8:17 PM VEN4:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Martinez singled and walked Wednesday against the Pirates.
Analysis: The 28-year-old rookie is 8 for 17 over a seven-game hitting streak.
Apr. 19 7:39 AM PT8:39 AM MT9:39 AM CT10:39 AM ET10:39 ET14:39 GMT22:39 7:39 AM MST9:39 AM EST10:09 AM VEN18:39 UAE9:39 AM CT-Martinez went 1 for 3 with a run scored to help the Cardinals to Tuesday's 2-1 win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The 28-year-old rookie is 7 for 15 over a six-game hitting streak and started a second straight game at first base in place of an injured Matt Carpenter. Martinez appears to have earned a regular spot in the lineup against left-handed pitching, as he's 5 for 9 with two doubles off southpaws thus far.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 StL 12 16 4 7 1 0 0 1 2 1 0 0 .438 .500 .500
2017 StL 54 130 24 36 6 1 6 18 11 33 1 0 .277 .331 .477
Career 66 146 28 43 7 1 6 19 13 34 1 0 .295 .350 .479


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.