MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
Shohei Ohtani
ERA W-L K
3.35 4-1 52
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 7/5/1994 Birthplace: Oshu, Japan
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Angels (2017)


Latest News
May 20 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani improved to 4-1, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 19 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE12:42 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 3 with a double Friday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-3. He ended the game with a .321 batting average.
May 18 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .321 batting average.
Analysis: Ohtani ended a personal 0-for-8 slump and 21 consecutive scoreless innings for the Angels.
May 17 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the Houston Astros 2-0. He ended the game with a .325 batting average.
May 16 12:22 PM PT1:22 PM MT2:22 PM CT3:22 PM ET15:22 ET19:22 GMT3:22 12:22 PM MST2:22 PM EST2:52 PM VEN23:22 UAE2:22 PM CT-The Angels have announced that Ohtani will start Sunday's game against Tampa Bay as a pitcher.
Analysis: This will be the third consecutive Sunday in which Ohtani will pitch on a full week's rest, which should be the expectation at this point as the Angels continue to utilize a six-man rotation. The move has worked out well for the two-way sensation, as he's allowed just three runs across 12 1/3 innings while going 1-0 over those previous two starts.
May 16 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Houston Astros 5-3. He ended the game with a .342 batting average.
May 13 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Minnesota Twins 2-1 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 12 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE12:34 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 4 Friday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-4. He ended the game with a .348 batting average.
May 11 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Minnesota Twins 7-4. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .354 batting average.
May 9 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 1 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Colorado Rockies 8-0. He ended the game with a .344 batting average.
Analysis: Ohtani, who didn't start because there is no designated hitter in NL parks, came up as a pinch-hitter in the eighth.
May 8 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the Colorado Rockies 4-2. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
May 6 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-2 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out six, ending the game with a 4.10 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 5 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Ohtani (ankle) will start on the mound for the Angels against the Mariners on Sunday.
Analysis: A mild right ankle sprain caused Ohtani to miss a turn in the rotation, though he's since returned as a hitter and is swinging a hot bat as well. The Japanese sensation is 4 for 7 with two RBIs and three runs scored over his last two games.
May 5 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Friday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Seattle Mariners 5-0. Ohtani scored once. He ended the game with a .339 batting average.
May 4 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE12:12 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 2 for 3 with an RBI Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Baltimore Orioles 12-3. Ohtani scored twice. He ended the game with a .327 batting average.
May 3 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Los Angeles Angels topped the Baltimore Orioles 10-7. Ohtani scored once. He ended the game with a .308 batting average.
May 2 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Los Angeles Angels beat the Baltimore Orioles 3-2. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Apr. 28 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-Ohtani's next start has been pushed to this weekend after he sprained his left ankle on Friday, but the two-way sensation is back in the lineup Tuesday against the Orioles. Ohtani was slated to pitch Tuesday, but manager Mike Scioscia said Sunday he instead expects Ohtani to start during a three-game series at Seattle that begins Friday.
Analysis: Ohtani is 2-1 with a 4.43 ERA. The Japanese star won his first two major league starts against Oakland, but went just two innings because of a blister against Boston and gave up four runs in 6 1/3 innings at Houston on Tuesday. Ohtani is hitting .341 with four home runs and 12 RBIs in 12 games.
Apr. 25 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani allowed four runs on six hits and five walks in 5.1 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Houston Astros 8-7 on Tuesday. Ohtani struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-2. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.
Apr. 21 5:35 PM PT6:35 PM MT7:35 PM CT8:35 PM ET20:35 ET0:35 GMT8:35 5:35 PM MST7:35 PM EST8:05 PM VEN4:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-Ohtani is scheduled to throw a ''full gorilla'' bullpen session on Sunday that will give the Angels a better idea if the blister that forced the Japanese two-way sensation out of his last pitching start has healed.
Analysis: Manager Mike Scioscia said he'll wait until after Sunday afternoon's game to confirm when Ohtani's next pitching start will be. It could be Monday at Houston. A blister on his right middle finger forced him out of Tuesday night's start against Boston after just two innings. He allowed four hits and three runs on 66 pitches, and couldn't throw his breaking pitches for strikes.
Apr. 21 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 2 for 4 Friday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the San Francisco Giants 8-1. He ended the game with a .342 batting average.
Apr. 20 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Los Angeles Angels fell to the Boston Red Sox 8-2. He ended the game with a .324 batting average.
Apr. 18 5:48 PM PT6:48 PM MT7:48 PM CT8:48 PM ET20:48 ET0:48 GMT8:48 5:48 PM MST7:48 PM EST8:18 PM VEN4:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-Ohtani is expected to make his next start for the Angels after the Japanese two-way sensation was limited to two innings in his third career start Tuesday because of a blister on the middle finger of his right hand.
Analysis: Scioscia said the blister would not keep Ohtani from being available to hit against the Red Sox on Thursday, but his possible inclusion as the designated hitter would depend entirely on lineup considerations. Ohtani is batting .367 with three home runs and 11 RBIs in eight games.
Apr. 17 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Ohtani's third start for the Angels lasted only two innings Tuesday night after he developed a blister on his pitching hand. Although his fastball again hit 99 mph and he only walked one batter, Ohtani needed 66 pitches to get through two innings.
Analysis: The Angels pulled the Japanese two-way sensation early after he yielded three runs and four hits while struggling with his control against the Red Sox. One inning after Ohtani left, the Angels announced the right-hander had developed a blister during the second inning.
Apr. 8 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani improved to 2-0, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-1 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Marcus Semien's clean one-out single to left broke up Ohtani's bid for a perfect game. Mixing 99 mph fastballs with precipitous breaking pitches and tremendous professional cool, Ohtani (2-0) was too much for Oakland.
Apr. 1 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Shohei Ohtani improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-4 on Sunday. Ohtani struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 12:02 AM PT1:02 AM MT2:02 AM CT3:02 AM ET3:02 ET7:02 GMT15:02 12:02 AM MST2:02 AM EST2:32 AM VEN11:02 UAE2:02 AM CT-Ohtani is scheduled to make his major league pitching debut Sunday when he starts for the Los Angeles Angels in their fourth game of the season at Oakland.
Analysis: The much-hyped Japanese star is expected to be the team's designated hitter in at least one of the first three games, but it's unclear if that will happen in the opener on Thursday. "We haven't determined our opening-day lineup yet," Angels manager Mike Scioscia said Tuesday night. The 23-year-old Ohtani, who struggled in spring training, was told after Tuesday's exhibition game against the Dodgers that he'll pitch Sunday.
Mar. 24 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Ohtani's final time on the mound in spring training Saturday was a mixed bag, leaving the Los Angeles Angels noncommittal on what's next for the two-way star from Japan. Ohtani worked into the sixth inning of an intrasquad game on a back field, throwing only 47 strikes in 85 pitches to mostly minor leaguers. He walked five, hit a batter and threw two wild pitches while allowing two runs on just two hits. The 23-year-old righty struck out five.
Analysis: When does Ohtani pitch again? He politely replied through a translator to ask manager Mike Scioscia. Scioscia isn't saying. He said Ohtani would be the designated hitter for some of the three Freeway Series exhibition games against the Los Angeles Dodgers. As a DH, Ohtani batted .107 with three singles in 28 at-bats with three walks and nine strikeouts.
Mar. 16 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Ohtani was rocked for seven runs over 1 1/3 innings in his second major league spring training start for the Los Angeles Angels, allowing long home runs to Colorado's Ian Desmond and Nolan Arenado on Friday.
Analysis: The 23-year-old Japanese two-way star was making his first big league exhibition appearance since Feb. 24, when he pitched 1 1/3 innings against Milwaukee and gave up Keon Broxton's home run leading off the second.
Mar. 12 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Angels DH Shohei Ohtani went 0 for 4 on Monday.
Analysis: The much-hyped pitcher/DH has struggled both on the mound and at the plate so far this spring. He's batting .111.
Feb. 26 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Ohtani hit a sharp RBI single up the middle and also walked twice in his first spring training start as a designated hitter for the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Batting second Monday, the 23-year-old fell behind 0-2 against San Diego Padres right-hander Jordan Lyles before drawing four straight balls in the first inning. The lefty-hitting phenom walked again in the third against Buddy Bauman. Ohtani then hit the first pitch he saw from Michael Mariot for a single in the fifth in his last time up. His first Cactus League at-bats came two days after his first start on the mound.
Feb. 24 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Ohtani struggled in his spring pitching debut with the Los Angeles Angels on Saturday, allowing a home run and lasting a few batters less than scheduled.
Analysis: Ohtani allowed two runs, one earned, and two hits in 1 1-3 innings. Keon Broxton tagged him for a home run leading off the second inning. The right-hander struck out two and walked one. He threw 31 pitches, 17 strikes. He had been scheduled to go two innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 LAA 4 1 0 - 0 7 7 0 40.1 29 15 15 5 14 0 52 1.07 3.35
Career 4 1 0 - 0 7 7 0 40.1 29 15 15 5 14 0 52 1.07 3.35

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 LAA 31 84 12 27 5 1 6 17 6 21 0 0 .321 .367 .619
Career 31 84 12 27 5 1 6 17 6 21 0 0 .321 .367 .619


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 301 101 91 97.1 45.74
Curveball 47 80 69 74.7 7.14
Slider 153 86 78 82.2 23.25
Split-Finger 157 92 83 87.7 23.86

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.