MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Jason Hammel
ERA W-L K
6.10 2-12 77
Team: Kansas CityHt / Wt: 6-6 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 9/2/1982 Birthplace: Greenville, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 10th Round by Devil Rays (2002)


Latest News
Aug. 15 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Jason Hammel did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Wednesday. Hammel struck out one, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-12, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk without recording an out, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-2 on Sunday. Hammel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.15 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Monday. Hammel struck out two, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-4 on Thursday. Hammel struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 31 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-2 on Tuesday. Hammel struck out two, ending the game with a 5.95 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Jason Hammel did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Kansas City Royals defeated the New York Yankees 10-5 on Saturday. Hammel struck out three, ending the game with a 6.01 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 23 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Monday. Hammel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.12 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 20 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Friday. Hammel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.18 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
July 14 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST3:23 PM CST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-0 on Saturday. Hammel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.15 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 10 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed two runs on three hits in 2.0 innings as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-4 on Tuesday. Hammel struck out two, ending the game with a 6.21 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 6 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-11, allowing eight runs on nine hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-5 on Friday. Hammel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.16 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 1 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST10:52 PM CST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-10, allowing six runs on 13 hits in 6.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-4 on Saturday. Hammel struck out four, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST3:18 PM CST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-9, allowing nine runs - seven earned - on six hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Houston Astros 11-3 on Sunday. Hammel struck out three, ending the game with a 5.34 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-8, allowing four runs on nine hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Tuesday. Hammel struck out four, ending the game with a 4.98 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-7, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits in 7.1 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-0 on Wednesday. Hammel struck out three, ending the game with a 4.89 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 8 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 2-6, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Thursday. Hammel struck out six, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST3:20 PM CST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Saturday. Hammel struck out three, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 27 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST4:13 PM CST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Jason Hammel improved to 2-5, allowing four hits and two walks over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Texas Rangers 5-3 on Sunday. Hammel struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Jason Hammel improved to 1-5, allowing one run on nine hits in 7.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Tuesday. Hammel struck out six, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Hammel had been winless in his previous 13 starts dating back to his last win Sept. 6, 2017. Hammel also had been winless in his previous seven road starts.
May 16 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 0-5, allowing five runs on 10 hits in 6.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3 on Wednesday. Hammel struck out two, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 11 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed nine runs on six hits and three walks in 3.2 innings as the Kansas City Royals defeated the Cleveland Indians 10-9 on Friday. Hammel struck out one, ending the game with a 6.13 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 5 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST5:25 PM CST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)6:25 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 0-4, allowing three runs on 10 hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Saturday. Hammel struck out five, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 0-3, allowing eight runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Boston Red Sox 10-6 on Monday. Hammel struck out two, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 0-2, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-2 on Wednesday. Hammel struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 9.0 innings as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Friday. Hammel struck out four, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed two runs on eight hits in 5.1 innings as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Friday. Hammel struck out four, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST2:10 PM CST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Jason Hammel allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-1 on Sunday. Hammel struck out five, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Jason Hammel fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Kansas City Royals lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-1 on Monday. Hammel struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 TB 0 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 44.0 61 38 38 7 21 0 32 1.86 7.77
2007 TB 3 5 0 - 0 24 14 0 85.0 100 58 58 12 40 1 64 1.65 6.14
2008 TB 4 4 2 - 2 40 5 0 78.1 83 45 40 11 35 4 44 1.51 4.60
2009 Col 10 8 0 - 0 34 30 1 176.2 203 94 85 17 42 6 133 1.39 4.33
2010 Col 10 9 0 - 0 30 30 0 177.2 201 97 95 18 47 1 141 1.40 4.81
2011 Col 7 13 1 - 1 32 27 0 170.1 175 100 90 21 68 3 94 1.43 4.76
2012 Bal 8 6 0 - 0 20 20 1 118.0 104 48 45 9 42 2 113 1.24 3.43
2013 Bal 7 8 1 - 1 26 23 0 139.1 155 81 77 22 48 1 96 1.46 4.97
2014 ChC 8 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 108.2 88 36 36 10 23 2 104 1.02 2.98
2014 Oak 2 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 67.2 66 34 32 13 21 0 54 1.29 4.26
2014 Tot 10 11 0 - 0 30 29 0 176.1 154 70 68 23 44 2 158 1.12 3.47
2015 ChC 10 7 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.2 158 79 71 23 40 4 172 1.16 3.74
2016 ChC 15 10 0 - 0 30 30 0 166.2 148 77 71 25 53 0 144 1.21 3.83
2017 KC 8 13 0 - 0 32 32 0 180.1 209 109 106 26 48 2 145 1.43 5.29
2018 KC 2 12 0 - 1 28 18 0 113.2 150 83 77 15 35 4 77 1.63 6.10
Career 94 112 4 - 5 366 298 2 1797.0 1901 979 921 229 563 30 1413 1.37 4.61

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 TB 24 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 2.000
2009 Col 34 55 1 6 1 0 0 0 2 25 0 0 .109 .140 .127
2010 Col 30 57 3 6 1 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .105 .121 .123
2011 Col 33 46 3 7 1 0 1 4 1 15 0 0 .152 .170 .239
2012 Bal 20 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 ChC 17 35 2 5 0 0 0 3 1 14 0 0 .143 .167 .143
2014 Oak 13 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 30 37 2 5 0 0 0 3 1 14 0 0 .135 .158 .135
2015 ChC 32 65 6 11 1 0 0 4 1 18 0 0 .169 .179 .185
2016 ChC 35 65 6 16 3 0 0 7 1 24 0 0 .246 .258 .292
2017 KC 32 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 KC 28 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 373 344 21 52 8 0 1 21 7 134 0 0 .151 .168 .183

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Col Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 4 4 4 1 3 0 5 9.82
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 4 4 4 1 3 0 5 9.82
2012 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 8 4 4 0 6 2 11 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 8 4 4 0 6 2 11 3.18
2014 Oak Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 -
2015 ChC Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 4.1 7 7 7 3 5 0 3 14.54
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 3 2 2 1 3 0 2 6.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 4 5 5 2 2 0 1 33.75
Career 0 2 0 - 0 6 5 0 19.1 20 15 15 4 14 2 19 6.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Col Total 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000
    LDS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
2015 ChC Total 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
    LDS 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
Career 6 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 971 95 88 91.6 52.43
Curveball 115 80 74 76.7 6.21
Slider 683 89 81 84.8 36.88
Changeup 83 86 83 84.7 4.48

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.