MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#72
Denard Span
AVG HR RBI
.238 4 28
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-0 / 210
Position: CFBorn: 2/27/1984 Birthplace: Washington, District of Columbia
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2002)


Latest News
May 25 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-The Seattle Mariners acquired Span and from the Tampa Bay Rays on Friday.
Analysis: Span has played both center field and left field in his career. He was hitting .238 in 48 games with the Rays, but his ability to play multiple spots in the outfield is the big benefit to Seattle after Dee Gordon's move to second base due to Robinson Cano's suspension.
May 24 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 3 with a double Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Boston Red Sox 6-3. Span scored three times and stole a base. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
May 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
May 22 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 4-2. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 20 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-2. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 19 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE12:42 AM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 5 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Los Angeles Angels 8-3. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
May 18 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Los Angeles Angels 7-1. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
May 16 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 5 with a double Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Kansas City Royals 5-3. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
May 15 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 5 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Kansas City Royals 6-5. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 13 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 2 with an RBI Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 17-1. Span added two stolen bases. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 12 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Baltimore Orioles 10-3. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
May 12 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-3. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
May 11 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 4 with a double Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Baltimore Orioles 9-4. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 9 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-2. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
May 8 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Atlanta Braves 1-0. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
May 6 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
May 5 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3. Span scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Span's 24 RBIs have come in 90 at-bats.
May 4 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Toronto Blue Jays 6-2. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
May 2 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 4 with an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Detroit Tigers 3-2. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
May 1 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 1 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 2-1. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
Apr. 30 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Detroit Tigers 3-2. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Apr. 29 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 4-3. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
Apr. 28 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Boston Red Sox 12-6. The homer was his second of the season. Span scored twice. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
Apr. 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Baltimore Orioles 9-5. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Apr. 25 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 5 with a double Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Baltimore Orioles 8-4. Span scored twice. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Apr. 22 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Minnesota Twins 8-6. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Apr. 21 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 5 with three RBIs Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Minnesota Twins 10-1. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: Span has a team-leading 17 RBIs on just 14 hits. Span has led off in 12 of the 13 games he has started.
Apr. 20 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 5 with a double and three RBIs Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Minnesota Twins 8-7. Span scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Apr. 18 12:50 PM PT1:50 PM MT2:50 PM CT3:50 PM ET15:50 ET19:50 GMT3:50 12:50 PM MST2:50 PM EST3:20 PM VEN23:50 UAE2:50 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Texas Rangers 4-2. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
Apr. 15 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-4. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
Apr. 13 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1. He ended the game with a .194 batting average.
Apr. 11 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Chicago White Sox 2-1. He ended the game with a .212 batting average.
Apr. 10 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Chicago White Sox 6-5. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
Apr. 9 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 4 with an RBI Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Chicago White Sox 5-4. Span added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Apr. 8 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 1 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 8-7. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
Apr. 7 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Denard Span went 2 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 10-3. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Apr. 5 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 1 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 3-2. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Apr. 4 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the New York Yankees 7-2. He ended the game with a .176 batting average.
Apr. 3 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 2 with a double and two RBIs Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the New York Yankees 11-4. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Apr. 1 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Denard Span went 0 for 5 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 2-1. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Mar. 31 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 3-2. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Mar. 29 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Denard Span went 1 for 3 with a triple and three RBIs Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Boston Red Sox 6-4. Span scored once. He ended the game with a .333 batting average.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Min 93 347 70 102 16 7 6 47 50 60 18 7 .294 .387 .432
2009 Min 145 578 97 180 16 10 8 68 70 89 23 10 .311 .392 .415
2010 Min 153 629 85 166 24 10 3 58 60 74 26 4 .264 .331 .348
2011 Min 70 284 37 75 11 5 2 16 27 36 6 1 .264 .328 .359
2012 Min 128 516 71 146 38 4 4 41 47 62 17 6 .283 .342 .395
2013 Was 153 610 75 170 28 11 4 47 42 77 20 6 .279 .327 .380
2014 Was 147 610 94 184 39 8 5 37 50 65 31 7 .302 .355 .416
2015 Was 61 246 38 74 17 0 5 22 25 26 11 0 .301 .365 .431
2016 SF 143 572 70 152 23 5 11 53 53 79 12 7 .266 .331 .381
2017 SF 129 497 73 135 31 5 12 43 40 69 12 7 .272 .329 .427
2018 TB 43 143 27 34 7 1 4 28 28 24 6 2 .238 .364 .385
Career 1265 5032 737 1418 250 66 64 460 492 661 182 57 .282 .348 .396

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Min Total 3 15 1 6 1 0 0 1 0 2 1 0 .400 .400 .467
    LDS 3 15 1 6 1 0 0 1 0 2 1 0 .400 .400 .467
2010 Min Total 3 13 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .308 .308 .308
    LDS 3 13 0 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .308 .308 .308
2014 Was Total 4 19 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .105 .150 .105
    LDS 4 19 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .105 .150 .105
2016 SF Total 4 19 3 5 2 1 0 1 1 4 1 2 .263 .300 .474
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 1 .250 .400 .250
    LDS 3 15 3 4 2 1 0 1 0 3 0 1 .267 .267 .533
Career 14 66 4 17 3 1 0 2 2 9 2 2 .258 .279 .333


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.