MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#24
Craig Kimbrel
ERA S K
5.68 13 26
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 205
Position: RPBorn: 5/28/1988 Birthplace: Huntsville, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 5 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST3:52 PM CST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Kimbrel has been placed on the 10-day injured list with right elbow inflammation. The move is retroactive to September 2.
Analysis: Kimbrel felt some discomfort after Sunday's appearance against the Brewers, in which he served up a three-run homer. "He felt a little something pop up in that outing so just to be on the cautious side, we had an MRI done," Cubs president of baseball operations Theo Epstein said. "It showed everything is in place structurally. He just has a little inflammation." Pedro Strop and Steve Cishek appear to be the best bets for save chances during Kimbrel's second IL stay.
Sep. 1 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 on Sunday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Thursday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the New York Mets 10-7 on Wednesday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 7-5 on Sunday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 12-11 on Wednesday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Tuesday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1 on Sunday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Kimbrel (right knee inflammation) was activated before Sunday's game against the Pirates.
Analysis: Kimbrel hasn't allowed a run in 10 of his last 11 appearances while going 8 of 9 in save chances over that stretch.
Aug. 3 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Saturday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 31 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 2-0 on Wednesday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on two hits and one walk without recording an out, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Saturday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
July 24 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-1 on Wednesday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 24 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE12:34 AM CT-Craig Kimbrel did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Tuesday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 20 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST3:49 PM CST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Diego Padres 6-5 on Saturday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 19 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Diego Padres 6-5 on Friday. Kimbrel struck out three, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-2 on Wednesday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Tuesday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
July 12 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Friday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.64 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Saturday. Kimbrel struck out three, ending the game with a 12.27 ERA and 2.18 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Wednesday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 16.88 ERA and 2.63 WHIP on the season.
July 1 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel allowed three runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 18-5 on Monday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.
June 27 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST3:26 PM CST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-7 on Thursday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Atl 4 0 1 - 1 21 0 0 20.2 9 2 1 0 16 1 40 1.21 0.44
2011 Atl 4 3 46 - 54 79 0 0 77.0 48 19 18 3 32 1 127 1.04 2.10
2012 Atl 3 1 42 - 45 63 0 0 62.2 27 7 7 3 14 0 116 0.65 1.01
2013 Atl 4 3 50 - 54 68 0 0 67.0 39 10 9 4 20 2 98 0.88 1.21
2014 Atl 0 3 47 - 51 63 0 0 61.2 30 13 11 2 26 0 95 0.91 1.61
2015 SD 4 2 39 - 43 61 0 0 59.1 40 19 17 6 22 1 87 1.04 2.58
2016 Bos 2 6 31 - 33 57 0 0 53.0 28 22 20 4 30 0 83 1.09 3.40
2017 Bos 5 0 35 - 39 67 0 0 69.0 33 11 11 6 14 0 126 0.68 1.43
2018 Bos 5 1 42 - 47 63 0 0 62.1 31 19 19 7 31 0 96 0.99 2.74
2019 ChC 0 2 13 - 15 21 0 0 19.0 18 12 12 6 11 0 26 1.53 5.68
Career 31 21 346 - 382 563 0 0 551.2 303 134 125 41 216 5 894 0.94 2.04

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 SD 61 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 563 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Atl Total 0 2 0 - 0 8 0 0 8.2 2 4 2 0 2 0 14 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.1 1 2 1 0 1 0 7 2.08
2012 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2013 Atl Total 0 0 2 - 2 2 0 0 2.2 0 0 0 0 4 0 4 0.00
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 1 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 0.00
2016 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
2017 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 8 2 2 0 2 0 4 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 4 1 1 0 1 0 2 4.50
2018 Bos Total 0 0 12 - 12 18 0 0 21.1 18 14 14 4 16 0 20 5.91
    LDS 0 0 2 - 2 2 0 0 2.1 2 3 3 1 2 0 4 11.57
    LCS 0 0 3 - 3 3 0 0 4.0 4 2 2 0 4 0 4 4.50
    WS 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 4.1 3 2 2 1 2 0 2 4.15
Career 0 1 7 - 7 19 0 0 20.2 14 10 9 2 12 0 25 3.92


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 244 99 94 91.9 67.4
Curveball 118 88 83 83.1 32.6

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.