MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#24
Chris Archer
ERA W-L K
4.31 3-5 102
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 9/26/1988 Birthplace: Clayton, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 27 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST6:30 PM CST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Archer won't make his scheduled start in Sunday's season finale because of a left groin issue.
Analysis: Archer ended up going 3-3 with a 4.30 ERA and 1.36 WHIP in his 10 starts since being acquired by the Pirates.
Sep. 26 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 6-8, allowing four hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-0 on Tuesday. Archer struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 5-8, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Wednesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 4-8, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4 on Friday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Friday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Saturday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 4-7, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4 on Sunday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 4.72 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Archer, who exited Monday's start after four innings due to left leg discomfort, is listed as the Pirates' probable starter Sunday against Milwaukee.
Analysis: Archer is scheduled to throw his normal bullpen on Thursday and the injury doesn't appear to be much of an issue. He's 1-1 with a 4.91 ERA in four starts since being acquired from the Rays at the July 31 trade deadline.
Aug. 20 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Archer was removed from Monday's start against Atlanta after four innings due to discomfort in his left leg.
Analysis: Archer seemed to sustain the injury when he slipped while trying to check his swing as he batted in the bottom of the third. The trade-deadline pickup stayed in to throw a scoreless fourth inning but was replaced afterward, finishing the night allowing one run on five hits with one walk and three strikeouts while taking the loss in Pittsburgh's 1-0 defeat. More should be known about his situation in the coming days.
Aug. 15 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on six hits in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-4 on Wednesday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST4:35 PM CST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 4-5, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Wednesday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed five runs - four earned - on seven hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Friday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST3:19 PM CST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Archer will make his Pirates debut Friday at home against the Cardinals.
Analysis: It will be the marquee trade-deadline pickup's second career start at PNC Park. He lost that outing, which came in June of last season, but owns a 5-4 record with a 2.42 ERA in 12 career starts in NL stadiums.
July 31 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Pirates bolstered the front end of their rotation at the non-waiver deadline on Tuesday, adding Tampa Bay's Chris Archer while sending the Rays a couple of coveted prospects in outfielder Austin Meadows and pitcher Tyler Glasnow and a player to be named.
Analysis: Archer, a two-time All-Star, is 3-5 with a 4.31 ERA in 17 starts this season for the Rays.
July 27 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 15-5 on Friday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 22 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs - three earned - on eight hits in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 6-4 on Sunday. Archer struck out 13, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 14 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST4:00 PM CST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two runs - one earned - on five hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 19-6 on Saturday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 10-9 on Monday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 3 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Archer (left abdominal strain) will return to the rotation and start Monday against Detroit. The ace has been on the disabled list since June 5 due to a left abdominal strain. Archer is 3-4 with a 4.24 ERA in 13 starts.
Analysis: Tampa Bay manager Kevin Cash said Archer will be limited to ''loosely'' 70 pitches.
June 3 10:17 PM PT11:17 PM MT12:17 AM CT1:17 AM ET1:17 ET5:17 GMT13:17 10:17 PM MST12:17 AM EST11:17 PM CST12:47 AM VEN9:17 UAE12:17 AM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-4, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-1 on Saturday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 28 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Monday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Wednesday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer has won only one of his last 20 starts against Boston.
May 18 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Chris Archer improved to 3-3, allowing two hits and four walks over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-1 on Thursday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 5.01 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 12 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 2-3, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Saturday. Archer struck out four, ending the game with a 5.64 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 6 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST2:10 PM CST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on five hits in 7.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Sunday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 1 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 2-1 on Tuesday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 6.05 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer surpassed 1,000 innings, becoming the third player to throw that many for Tampa Bay after James Shields and David Price.
Apr. 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 2-1, allowing four runs on 11 hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-5 on Thursday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.61 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-7 on Friday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 6.59 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST6:59 PM CST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-1, allowing seven runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 9-4 on Saturday. Archer struck out two, ending the game with a 7.84 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 1-0, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-4 on Monday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST5:52 PM CST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 11-4 on Tuesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.55 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-4 on Thursday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 15 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST2:34 PM CST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)2:34 PM CT-Archer has been named the Tampa Bay Rays' opening day starter for a franchise-record fourth consecutive season. Archer is set to pitch against the Boston Red Sox on March 29 at Tropicana Field, the team announced Thursday. The 29-year-old right-hander is 1-2 with a 3.57 ERA on opening day.
Analysis: Archer was 10-12 with a 4.07 ERA in 34 starts last year and is 51-63 with a 3.63 ERA in six big league seasons.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.