MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#22
Chris Archer
ERA W-L K
3.77 7-6 167
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195 NFBC ADP: 50.32
Position: SPBorn: 9/26/1988 Birthplace: Clayton, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
July 23 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Archer fell to 7-6, allowing four runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 4-3 on Saturday. Archer struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer set a team record with his 24th career game with double-digit strikeouts. David Price had 23 double-digit strikeout games with the Rays.
July 16 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two runs on five hits and five walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Sunday. Archer struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer had an uncharacteristic day, walking three batters in the first two innings and five total in his six innings. It was the most walks he has allowed in a game since Cleveland had six on May 15. He has allowed three walks or less in 17 of his 20 starts this season.
July 9 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Sunday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer heads into the All-Star break with 147 strikeouts to rank second in the AL.
July 4 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 7-5, allowing three runs on eight hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Tuesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer picked up his third win in four starts, and the former Cubs prospect also had an RBI single for his first career hit.
June 29 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 6-5, allowing three runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Thursday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 23 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 6-4, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 15-5 on Friday. Archer struck out four, ending the game with a 3.97 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 17 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 5-4, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Saturday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer halted a three-start winless stretch while recording at least eight strikeouts for the eighth time in his last nine starts. The Tampa ace is averaging a whopping 12.9 Ks per nine innings during that time frame. He'll next take the mound Friday at home against an Orioles team he allowed five runs to across 6 2/3 innings in a road loss in April.
June 17 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 5-4, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Saturday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer halted a three-start winless stretch while recording at least eight strikeouts for the eighth time in his last nine starts. The Tampa ace is averaging a whopping 12.9 Ks per nine innings during that time frame. He'll next take the mound Friday at home against an Orioles team he allowed five runs to across 6 2/3 innings in a road loss in April.
June 11 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Sunday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-2 on Tuesday. Archer struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer tied David Price's club record for career double-digit strikeout games with 23. He's struck out 69 over 47 innings in his last seven starts.
June 1 9:38 PM PT10:38 PM MT11:38 PM CT12:38 AM ET0:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE11:38 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 7-5 on Wednesday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 26 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 4-3, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-2 on Friday. Archer struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It's the fourth time in five starts in which Archer has struck out 11 or more, and he's piled up a stunning 51 Ks in 33 innings during that stretch. He'll next take the mound Wednesday at Texas' Globe Life Park, where he's had entirely different results in two previous starts. The right-hander fanned 12 over seven innings in a 10-1 win there in 2014, but was tagged for eight runs in 5 1/3 innings the following year.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-3, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Sunday. Archer struck out a season-high 12, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Brett Gardner's two-run homer in the second inning helped keep Archer at one win over his last seven starts, but he recorded 11 or more strikeouts for the third time in four outings. He's worth inserting into fantasy lineups for that reason alone.
May 15 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-2, allowing seven runs - six earned - on five hits and a career-high six walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-7 on Monday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer was reached for five runs in the first inning, and one each in the second and third. The right-hander went 1-0 with a 1.69 ERA in his previous three starts while striking out 27 and walking three in 21 1/3 innings.
May 10 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 3-1, allowing five hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 12-1 on Wednesday. Archer struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Though he entered the matchup winless in five straight starts, Archer has pitched well in each of his last three. The Tampa ace has now posted back-to-back 11-strikeout efforts and sports an excellent 1.69 ERA over those three outings.
May 5 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Friday. Archer struck out a season-high 11, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Archer left the game in the seventh after allowing a leadoff walk and a tying two-run homer. The right-hander is 0-1 with a 4.68 ERA in his last four starts after going 2-0 with a 2.21 ERA in his first three.
Apr. 30 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 7.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1 on Sunday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Though his winless stretch was extended to three starts after Alex Colome blew a 1-0 lead in the eighth, Archer pitched far better than he did in his previous two outings, when he was tagged for nine runs over a combined 11 2/3 innings. The Tampa ace faces the Blue Jays again Friday, this time in St. Petersburg.
Apr. 24 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-After going his first four starts spanning 25 1/3 innings without allowing a home run, Archer surrendered three in 6 2/3 innings Monday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Archer has given up nine runs over 11 2/3 innings in his past two starts after yielding just five over 20 1/3 in his first three. His next start is Sunday at Toronto.
Apr. 15 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Archer (2-0) gave up one run in 5 2/3 innings on Friday, ending his 11-game losing streak against the Red Sox.
Analysis: Archer has won his first two decisions after finishing 9-19 a year ago. He's going to be much better this season.
Apr. 8 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Archer was perfect with six strikeouts through four innings before Kendrys Morales led off the fifth with a sharp single. He ended up allowing two runs with eight strikeouts over 7 2/3 innings in Saturday's 3-2, 11-inning win over the Jays.
Analysis: Archer, who beat the New York Yankees in the major league opener last weekend, has not won two straight starts within a season since June 2015.
Apr. 2 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Archer allowed two runs and seven hits while striking out five and issuing one walk over seven innings in Sunday's 7-3 win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Archer, a first-time All-Star in 2015 who lost an AL-leading 19 times last season, makes his next start Saturday against the Blue Jays. He was 1-1 with a 3.09 ERA and 1.16 WHIP in four starts against Toronto last season, striking out 32 while walking 12 over 23 1/3 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 TB 1 3 0 - 0 6 4 0 29.1 23 17 15 3 13 0 36 1.23 4.60
2013 TB 9 7 0 - 0 23 23 2 128.2 107 49 46 15 38 2 101 1.13 3.22
2014 TB 10 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 194.2 177 85 72 12 72 1 173 1.28 3.33
2015 TB 12 13 0 - 0 34 34 1 212.0 175 85 76 19 66 0 252 1.14 3.23
2016 TB 9 19 0 - 0 33 33 0 201.1 183 100 90 30 67 0 233 1.24 4.02
2017 TB 7 6 0 - 0 21 21 0 136.0 125 62 57 14 44 0 167 1.24 3.77
Career 48 57 0 - 0 149 147 3 902.0 790 398 356 93 300 3 962 1.21 3.55

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 TB 8 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 .000 .000 .000
2013 TB 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 TB 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 TB 34 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 TB 33 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .125 .000
2017 TB 21 5 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
Career 151 25 3 1 0 0 0 1 1 12 0 1 .040 .077 .040

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1079 99 90 95.6 48.28
Slider 1005 93 82 89.1 44.97
Changeup 151 90 82 85.9 6.76

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.