MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#99
Hyun-Jin Ryu
ERA W-L K
1.64 12-3 126
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-3 / 255
Position: SPBorn: 3/25/1987 Birthplace: Incheon, South Korea
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 17 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu fell to 12-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Saturday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 12-2, allowing five hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-3 on Sunday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 1.45 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Ryu (sore neck) came off the injured list Sunday and will start against the Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Ryu, the majors' ERA leader at 1.53, has thrown 135 2/3 innings so far this season, his most since compiling 152 in 2014.
July 31 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST4:19 PM CST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-1 on Wednesday. Ryu struck out one, ending the game with a 1.66 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed one run on eight hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Washington Nationals 4-2 on Friday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
July 20 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST11:12 PM CST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE12:12 AM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 11-2, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Friday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.76 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
July 15 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed two runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Sunday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 1.78 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the NL All-Stars lost to the AL All-Stars 4-3 on Tuesday. Ryu did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 5 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST10:15 PM CST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 10-2, allowing three hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the San Diego Padres 5-1 on Thursday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 1.73 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:36 PM PT10:36 PM MT11:36 PM CT12:36 AM ET0:36 ET4:36 GMT12:36 9:36 PM MST11:36 PM EST10:36 PM CST12:06 AM VEN8:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu fell to 9-2, allowing seven runs on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers lost to the Colorado Rockies 13-9 on Friday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 1.83 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed three runs - one earned - on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-4 on Saturday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 1.27 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
June 16 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed two runs - zero earned - on seven hits in 7.0 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Sunday. Ryu struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.26 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
June 11 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST11:32 PM CST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed one run on seven hits in 6.0 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-3 on Monday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 1.36 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
June 5 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 9-1, allowing three hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-0 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out two, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
May 31 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 8-1, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.2 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the New York Mets 2-0 on Thursday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.48 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
May 26 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST10:19 PM CST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 7-1, allowing two runs on 10 hits in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-2 on Saturday. Ryu struck out three, ending the game with a 1.65 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 19 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 6-1, allowing five hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-3 on Sunday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 1.52 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 12 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 5-1, allowing one hit and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Washington Nationals 6-0 on Sunday. Ryu struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
May 8 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 4-1, allowing four hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-0 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
May 2 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST10:52 PM CST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu allowed one run on four hits in 8.0 innings as the Los Angeles Dodgers lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Wednesday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on eight hits in 7.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-2 on Friday. Ryu struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu fell to 2-1, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-0 on Saturday. Ryu struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST6:58 PM CST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Ryu (strained left groin) will come off the injured list and start Saturday in Milwaukee.
Analysis: Ryu, who exited against the Cardinals on April 8, missed a big chunk of last season with a more severe groin strain. He's 2-0 with a 3.07 ERA in three starts this season.
Apr. 3 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-5 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST5:04 PM CST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Hyun-Jin Ryu improved to 1-0, allowing one run on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 12-5 on Thursday. Ryu struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 LAD 14 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 192.0 182 67 64 15 49 4 154 1.20 3.00
2014 LAD 14 7 0 - 0 26 26 0 152.0 152 60 57 8 29 2 139 1.19 3.38
2016 LAD 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 8 6 6 1 2 1 4 2.14 11.57
2017 LAD 5 9 1 - 1 25 24 0 126.2 128 58 53 22 45 3 116 1.37 3.77
2018 LAD 7 3 0 - 0 15 15 0 82.1 68 23 18 9 15 1 89 1.01 1.97
2019 LAD 12 3 0 - 0 23 23 1 148.1 122 33 27 12 18 0 126 0.94 1.64
Career 52 31 1 - 1 120 119 3 706.0 660 247 225 67 158 11 628 1.16 2.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD 30 58 5 12 3 1 0 5 2 23 0 0 .207 .233 .293
2014 LAD 26 47 4 7 2 0 0 2 1 17 0 0 .149 .167 .191
2016 LAD 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 LAD 25 30 3 4 1 0 0 0 3 18 0 0 .133 .235 .167
2018 LAD 16 26 4 7 1 0 0 2 2 13 0 0 .269 .321 .308
2019 LAD 24 41 1 5 1 0 0 1 4 19 0 0 .122 .200 .146
Career 122 203 17 35 8 1 0 10 12 90 0 0 .172 .222 .222

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 LAD Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 9 4 4 0 2 0 5 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 6 4 4 0 1 0 1 12.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
2014 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.50
2018 LAD Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 19.0 23 11 11 1 3 1 20 5.03
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 8 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.1 13 7 7 1 2 1 7 8.59
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 6 4 4 0 1 0 5 7.71
Career 2 2 0 - 0 7 7 0 35.0 37 16 16 2 6 1 29 4.11

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 - .000 -
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 LAD Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 LAD Total 4 5 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .400 .400 .400
    LDS 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
    LCS 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 7 8 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .222 .250


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 869 94 86 90.5 40.51
Curveball 245 78 65 72.4 11.42
Slider 2 83 81 82 .09
Changeup 606 85 74 79.8 28.25
Cut Fastball 423 90 82 87 19.72

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.