MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Steven Wright
ERA W-L K
2.87 2-1 35
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 222
Position: SPBorn: 8/30/1984 Birthplace: Torrance, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 16 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Steven Wright recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Sunday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST5:20 PM CST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Steven Wright walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 5-3 on Saturday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Wednesday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 6-5 on Sunday. Wright did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Tuesday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-2 on Monday. Wright did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 26 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST1:51 PM CST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Wright, on the DL since June 23 with left knee inflammation, will be activated Saturday when rosters expand.
Analysis: The knuckleball specialist will serve as a middle and long reliever when he does return, so his fantasy value will be minimal unless injuries strike.
June 22 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed 10 runs on 10 hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 14-10 on Friday. Wright struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 16 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Steven Wright fell to 2-1, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 1-0 on Saturday. Wright struck out four, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed four hits and three walks without giving up a run in 6.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-0 on Monday. Wright struck out five, ending the game with a 1.21 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Steven Wright improved to 2-0, allowing two hits and three walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-0 on Tuesday. Wright struck out six, ending the game with a 1.57 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 4-2 on Thursday. Wright struck out four, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 28 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-3 on Monday. Wright struck out two, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 26 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Steven Wright improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and one walk over 3.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-6 on Saturday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Steven Wright walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3 on Thursday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Friday. Wright struck out five, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 16 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Steven Wright allowed two runs on two hits and three walks in 2.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Tuesday. Wright struck out one, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
May 14 4:00 PM PT5:00 PM MT6:00 PM CT7:00 PM ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST5:00 PM CST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Wright returned to the Boston Red Sox after serving a 15-game suspension under Major League Baseball's domestic violence policy.
Analysis: The 33-year-old right-hander accepted the penalty in March without an appeal. He started the season on the disabled list while recovering from knee surgery, then served the discipline.
Mar. 26 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Wright (left knee surgery) has been activated off the 10-day disabled list.
Analysis: Wright also must serve a 15-game suspension for a domestic violence policy violation which now goes into effect since he's off the DL.
Mar. 23 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST3:23 PM CST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Wright has accepted a 15-game suspension under Major League Baseball's domestic violence policy following his arrest on Dec. 8. Wright publicly apologized to his wife, Shannon, after baseball Commissioner Rob Manfred announced the penalty Friday.
Analysis: The 33-year-old knuckeballer was an All-Star in 2016 but was limited to five starts last year by a left knee injury that required surgery May 8. He has not pitched in a major league spring training game this year, and it is not clear whether he will start the season on the disabled list. The suspension will start when he is put on the active roster and will cost him about $100,000 of his $1.1 million salary.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Bos 2 0 0 - 0 4 1 0 13.1 12 8 8 0 9 0 10 1.58 5.40
2014 Bos 0 1 0 - 0 6 1 0 21.0 21 8 6 2 4 0 22 1.19 2.57
2015 Bos 5 4 0 - 0 16 9 0 72.2 67 38 33 12 27 0 52 1.29 4.09
2016 Bos 13 6 0 - 0 24 24 4 156.2 138 74 58 12 57 1 127 1.24 3.33
2017 Bos 1 3 0 - 0 5 5 0 24.0 40 24 22 9 5 1 13 1.88 8.25
2018 Bos 2 1 1 - 1 16 4 0 47.0 35 15 15 4 26 1 35 1.30 2.87
Career 23 15 1 - 1 71 44 4 334.2 313 167 142 39 128 3 259 1.32 3.82

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Bos 16 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bos 25 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 72 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 59 88 80 83.7 8.06
Curveball 4 70 67 68.5 .55
Knuckleball 669 81 62 75.4 91.39

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.