MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#64
David Holmberg
ERA W-L K
4.68 2-4 33
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-3 / 245
Position: SPBorn: 7/19/1991 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by White Sox (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 29 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 2.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-1 on Friday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 8-2 on Saturday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 17-7 on Thursday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-David Holmberg fell to 2-4, allowing six runs on six hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 9-4 on Tuesday. Holmberg struck out two, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:50 AM PT8:50 AM MT9:50 AM CT10:50 AM ET10:50 ET14:50 GMT22:50 7:50 AM MST9:50 AM EST10:20 AM VEN18:50 UAE9:50 AM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Houston Astros 7-1 on Wednesday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-5 on Thursday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Tuesday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 28 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Thursday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 27 11:00 AM PT12:00 PM MT1:00 PM CT2:00 PM ET14:00 ET18:00 GMT2:00 11:00 AM MST1:00 PM EST1:30 PM VEN22:00 UAE1:00 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-3 on Wednesday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 25 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-2 on Tuesday. Holmberg struck out two, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 20 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-1 on Wednesday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 19 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 1-0 on Tuesday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Sunday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 15 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Friday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run on three hits in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Colorado Rockies 12-4 on Friday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 5 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run - zero earned - on zero hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-4 on Wednesday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 4 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-David Holmberg walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-6 on Tuesday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)7:17 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 10-4 on Saturday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 1 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 8-7 on Friday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 27 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-David Holmberg fell to 1-2, allowing six runs - two earned - on five hits and four walks in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Monday. Holmberg struck out two, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Holmberg has allowed 10 runs over his last two starts, only four of which have been earned.
June 23 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-David Holmberg did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-0 on Friday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 22 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-David Holmberg fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - two earned - on seven hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Wednesday. Holmberg struck out four, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 15 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Holmberg allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Thursday.
Analysis: Holmberg struck out three, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Holmberg allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Saturday. Holmberg struck out four, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Holmberg recorded his first victory since July 30, 2015 when he pitched for Cincinnati against Pittsburgh. The left-hander was making his third start and 11th appearance of the season.
June 4 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 3.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-4 on Sunday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Holmberg didn't allow a run until the fourth inning in his second start of the season, an effort that will likely give him another opportunity in the rotation. The 25-year-old lefty is holding opposing hitters to a .133 average in 10 total appearances this season.
May 29 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed three runs on two hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Monday. Holmberg struck out two, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was Holmberg's first start of the season after posting a 0.87 ERA in eight appearances out of the bullpen.
May 24 6:57 AM PT7:57 AM MT8:57 AM CT9:57 AM ET9:57 ET13:57 GMT21:57 6:57 AM MST8:57 AM EST9:27 AM VEN17:57 UAE8:57 AM CT-David Holmberg did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Tuesday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 0.48 WHIP on the season.
May 23 6:48 AM PT7:48 AM MT8:48 AM CT9:48 AM ET9:48 ET13:48 GMT21:48 6:48 AM MST8:48 AM EST9:18 AM VEN17:48 UAE8:48 AM CT-David Holmberg did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1 on Monday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.08 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
May 19 6:47 AM PT7:47 AM MT8:47 AM CT9:47 AM ET9:47 ET13:47 GMT21:47 6:47 AM MST8:47 AM EST9:17 AM VEN17:47 UAE8:47 AM CT-David Holmberg walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Thursday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:38 AM PT8:38 AM MT9:38 AM CT10:38 AM ET10:38 ET14:38 GMT22:38 7:38 AM MST9:38 AM EST10:08 AM VEN18:38 UAE9:38 AM CT-David Holmberg did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-8 on Wednesday. Holmberg struck out two, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-David Holmberg walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the San Diego Padres 9-3 on Sunday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 10 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-2 on Tuesday. Holmberg struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 4 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-David Holmberg allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-3 on Thursday. Holmberg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Ari 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 6 3 3 0 3 0 0 2.45 7.36
2014 Cin 2 2 0 - 0 7 5 0 30.0 27 16 16 8 16 1 18 1.43 4.80
2015 Cin 1 4 0 - 0 6 6 0 28.1 36 24 24 10 16 0 15 1.84 7.62
2017 CWS 2 4 0 - 1 37 7 0 57.2 63 37 30 12 34 3 33 1.68 4.68
Career 5 10 0 - 1 51 19 0 119.2 132 80 73 30 69 4 66 1.68 5.49

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Ari 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Cin 7 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Cin 6 8 2 1 0 0 0 0 2 5 0 0 .125 .364 .125
Career 51 14 2 1 0 0 0 0 2 8 0 0 .071 .235 .071


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 520 90 85 87.6 48.37
Curveball 154 76 70 73.1 14.33
Slider 196 84 77 80.4 18.23
Changeup 205 83 79 81.6 19.07

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.