MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Blake Treinen
ERA S K
4.61 7 54
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-5 / 226 NFBC ADP: 331.66
Position: RPBorn: 6/30/1988 Birthplace: Wichita, Kansas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 7th Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 20 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Blake Treinen recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Sunday. Treinen struck out three, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 4:49 PM PT5:49 PM MT6:49 PM CT7:49 PM ET19:49 ET23:49 GMT7:49 4:49 PM MST6:49 PM EST7:19 PM VEN3:49 UAE (+1)6:49 PM CT-Blake Treinen fell to 1-3, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Wednesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.77 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Blake Treinen improved to 1-2, allowing two runs on three hits in 1.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-8 on Tuesday. Treinen struck out three, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Blake Treinen recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Friday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-Blake Treinen walked three and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Tuesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.59 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:26 AM PT8:26 AM MT9:26 AM CT10:26 AM ET10:26 ET14:26 GMT22:26 7:26 AM MST9:26 AM EST9:56 AM VEN18:26 UAE9:26 AM CT-Blake Treinen allowed no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 11-10 on Sunday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Treinen, Oakland's seventh reliever, earned his fifth overall save and second with the A's.
Aug. 6 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-0 on Saturday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 10:05 AM PT11:05 AM MT12:05 PM CT1:05 PM ET13:05 ET17:05 GMT1:05 10:05 AM MST12:05 PM EST12:35 PM VEN21:05 UAE12:05 PM CT-Blake Treinen blew his fifth save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-6 on Friday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE12:42 AM CT-Blake Treinen recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the San Francisco Giants 8-5 on Monday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 31 8:12 AM PT9:12 AM MT10:12 AM CT11:12 AM ET11:12 ET15:12 GMT23:12 8:12 AM MST10:12 AM EST10:42 AM VEN19:12 UAE10:12 AM CT-Blake Treinen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Sunday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.89 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 27 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Blake Treinen blew his fourth save, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Thursday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Wednesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 23 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics defeated the New York Mets 3-2 on Sunday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the New York Mets 6-5 on Saturday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
July 21 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Blake Treinen blew his third save, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the New York Mets 7-5 on Friday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.36 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
July 19 10:16 PM PT11:16 PM MT12:16 AM CT1:16 AM ET1:16 ET5:16 GMT13:16 10:16 PM MST12:16 AM EST12:46 AM VEN9:16 UAE12:16 AM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Tuesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
July 18 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-Blake Treinen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Monday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
July 16 10:43 AM PT11:43 AM MT12:43 PM CT1:43 PM ET13:43 ET17:43 GMT1:43 10:43 AM MST12:43 PM EST1:13 PM VEN21:43 UAE12:43 PM CT-The A's have acquired Treinen along with minor leaguers Jesus Lazardo and Sheldon Neuse from the Nationals in exchange for veteran relievers Ryan Madson and Sean Doolittle.
Analysis: Treinen began the season as the Nationals' closer but was a disaster in that role, producing a 9.00 ERA in April before being banished to middle relief. The 29-year-old could get an opportunity to finish games with the rebuilding A's, however, so his fantasy value could spike significantly with this trade.
July 7 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Friday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
July 7 11:05 PM PT12:05 AM MT1:05 AM CT2:05 AM ET2:05 ET6:05 GMT14:05 11:05 PM MST1:05 AM EST1:35 AM VEN10:05 UAE1:05 AM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-2 on Thursday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.89 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 4 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 11-4 on Tuesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 29 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Treinen fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Thursday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.11 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Treinen was the goat in this contest, and added to the misery that is the Nationals' bullpen.
June 27 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-1 on Tuesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one run on three hits in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Monday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.67 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
June 23 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Friday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 12-3 on Tuesday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
June 11 5:40 PM PT6:40 PM MT7:40 PM CT8:40 PM ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 PM MST7:40 PM EST8:10 PM VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Texas Rangers 5-1 on Sunday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.33 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
June 9 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Friday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.15 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Blake Treinen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-1 on Thursday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with a 6.39 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
June 3 10:22 AM PT11:22 AM MT12:22 PM CT1:22 PM ET13:22 ET17:22 GMT1:22 10:22 AM MST12:22 PM EST12:52 PM VEN21:22 UAE12:22 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Oakland Athletics 13-3 on Friday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.66 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
May 29 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE12:11 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.85 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
May 25 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Blake Treinen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Thursday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.52 ERA and 2.11 WHIP on the season.
May 18 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one run on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-4 on Thursday. Treinen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
May 18 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Wednesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 2.07 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Wednesday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 2.22 WHIP on the season.
May 7 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Blake Treinen fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Sunday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 9.22 ERA and 2.56 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 on Friday. Treinen struck out two, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.46 WHIP on the season.
May 3 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Blake Treinen allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-3 on Tuesday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with an 8.25 ERA and 2.42 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Blake Treinen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 23-5 on Sunday. Treinen struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-The Washington Nationals removed Treinen from the closer's role on Wednesday and will use what manager Dusty Baker said is a ''mix and match'' plan with right-handers Shawn Kelley and Koda Glover sharing the job.
Analysis: Kelley earned his first save of the season in Tuesday night's 3-1 win over Atlanta after Treinen gave up a run, two hits and two walks while recording only one out in the ninth. Treinen has a 7.11 ERA with three saves in four chances in eight games. He will shift to a setup role.
Apr. 18 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Atlanta scored a run against Treinen and had the bases loaded with one out on Tuesday. But Shawn Kelley came on for his first save, getting Emilio Bonifacio to fly out to short right field and striking out Chase d'Arnaud - twice, actually - to end the game.
Analysis: This could be the start of a changing of the guard for Washington's closer role. After a strong start, Treinen has struggled of late. Kelley could be ready to take over.
Apr. 5 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Treinen pitched the ninth for his second save in Wednesday's 6-4 win over the Marlins.
Analysis: Treinen was a surprise choice for the closer role in Washington, but he's already paying dividends for fantasy owners who grabbed him right away.
Mar. 30 10:34 AM PT11:34 AM MT12:34 PM CT1:34 PM ET13:34 ET17:34 GMT1:34 10:34 AM MST12:34 PM EST1:04 PM VEN21:34 UAE12:34 PM CT-Treinen capped a perfect spring by earning the closer's role in a mild upset within the Nationals bullpen.
Analysis: Veteran Shawn Kelley entered spring training as the favorite for the ninth-inning role and phenom Koda Glover closed quickly, but the steady Treinen was virtually flawless. In five spring appearances, he posted an ERA of 0.00. Treinen, 28, went 4-1 with a 2.28 ERA in 73 appearances for the Nationals in 2016, finishing 17 games.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Was 2 3 0 - 0 15 7 0 50.2 57 17 14 1 13 1 30 1.38 2.49
2015 Was 2 5 0 - 3 60 0 0 67.2 62 32 29 4 32 6 65 1.39 3.86
2016 Was 4 1 1 - 3 73 0 0 67.0 51 19 17 5 31 6 63 1.22 2.28
2017 Was 0 2 3 - 5 37 0 0 37.2 48 24 24 3 13 1 32 1.62 5.73
2017 Oak 1 1 4 - 7 17 0 0 19.0 14 6 5 3 6 1 22 1.05 2.37
2017 Tot 1 3 7 - 12 54 0 0 56.2 62 30 29 6 19 2 54 1.43 4.61
Career 9 12 8 - 18 202 7 0 242.0 232 98 89 16 95 15 212 1.35 3.31

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Was 15 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .083 .154 .083
2015 Was 60 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 202 14 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 9 0 0 .071 .133 .071

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Was Total 1 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 2 2 0 0 0 5 6.75
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 2 2 0 0 0 5 6.75
Career 1 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 2 2 0 0 0 5 6.75


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 648 101 93 97.1 69.45
Slider 210 92 84 88.8 22.51
Changeup 72 92 87 89.1 7.72
Cut Fastball 3 93 92 92.3 .32

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.