MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
James McCann
AVG HR RBI
.226 9 26
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210 NFBC ADP: 328.09
Position: CBorn: 6/13/1990 Birthplace: Santa Barbara, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Tigers (2011)


Latest News
July 22 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 1 with a double Saturday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Minnesota Twins 6-5. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
July 21 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 16-4. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
July 19 9:00 AM PT10:00 AM MT11:00 AM CT12:00 PM ET12:00 ET16:00 GMT0:00 9:00 AM MST11:00 AM EST11:30 AM VEN20:00 UAE11:00 AM CT-James McCann went 2 for 5 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Kansas City Royals 9-3. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
July 17 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-James McCann went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5. He ended the game with a .201 batting average.
July 15 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET21:12 ET1:12 GMT9:12 6:12 PM MST8:12 PM EST8:42 PM VEN5:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 2 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Toronto Blue Jays 11-1. He ended the game with a .199 batting average.
July 7 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 1 Friday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 11-2. He ended the game with a .201 batting average.
July 6 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers topped the San Francisco Giants 6-2. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
July 5 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
July 2 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-James McCann went 2 for 2 with a home run and four RBIs Sunday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Cleveland Indians 11-8. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .210 batting average.
Analysis: McCann is 6 for 11 with six RBIs over his last four games.
July 1 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 2 with an RBI Saturday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Cleveland Indians 7-4. He ended the game with a .199 batting average.
June 27 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Kansas City Royals 5-3. He ended the game with a .194 batting average.
June 26 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-James McCann went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Detroit Tigers beat the San Diego Padres 7-5. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .191 batting average.
June 22 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-James McCann went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Seattle Mariners 7-5. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
Analysis: The homer was McCann's first since May 9 and only his second hit in 24 at-bats since returning from a hand injury earlier this month. Though he'll have flashes of power, the catcher's low batting average and sporadic playing time still make him a risky fantasy play.
June 19 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-James McCann went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-1. He ended the game with a .183 batting average.
June 16 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Tampa Bay Rays 13-4. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .187 batting average.
June 12 9:00 AM PT10:00 AM MT11:00 AM CT12:00 PM ET12:00 ET16:00 GMT0:00 9:00 AM MST11:00 AM EST11:30 AM VEN20:00 UAE11:00 AM CT-James McCann went 1 for 4 with a double Sunday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Boston Red Sox 8-3. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .192 batting average.
June 11 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-James McCann went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Boston Red Sox 11-3. He ended the game with a .190 batting average.
May 26 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-McCann (left hand laceration) came off the DL and went 0 for 4 Friday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-3. He ended the game with a .196 batting average.
Analysis: The catcher was right back in the lineup after missing two weeks when he was hit by a pitch in Houston on May 25.
May 26 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-McCann suffered a lacerated left hand when he was hit by a pitch in Thursday's game at Houston. The Tigers placed him on the 10-day disabled list following their 7-6 loss.
Analysis: McCann needed five stitches to close the wound caused when he was struck in the fourth inning. He shouldn't need more than the minimum stay on the DL, while Alex Avila should log the majority of the starts behind the plate in the meantime.
May 24 10:37 AM PT11:37 AM MT12:37 PM CT1:37 PM ET13:37 ET17:37 GMT1:37 10:37 AM MST12:37 PM EST1:07 PM VEN21:37 UAE12:37 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 2 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 6-2. He ended the game with a .206 batting average.
May 20 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Texas Rangers 9-3. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .198 batting average.
May 19 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-3. He ended the game with a .196 batting average.
May 17 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .202 batting average.
May 17 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-James McCann went 3 for 7 with a double Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Baltimore Orioles 13-11. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .198 batting average.
May 15 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-James McCann went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Los Angeles Angels 4-1. He ended the game with a .179 batting average.
May 14 9:56 AM PT10:56 AM MT11:56 AM CT12:56 PM ET12:56 ET16:56 GMT0:56 9:56 AM MST11:56 AM EST12:26 PM VEN20:56 UAE11:56 AM CT-James McCann went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Los Angeles Angels 4-3. He ended the game with a .185 batting average.
May 12 6:53 AM PT7:53 AM MT8:53 AM CT9:53 AM ET9:53 ET13:53 GMT21:53 6:53 AM MST8:53 AM EST9:23 AM VEN17:53 UAE8:53 AM CT-McCann went 3 for 4 with a double and an RBI Thursday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Los Angeles Angels 7-1. McCann scored once. He ended the game with a .195 batting average.
Analysis: McCann is 6 for 14 with two homers and five RBIs in four games since going 0 for 15 in the previous five.
May 11 8:53 AM PT9:53 AM MT10:53 AM CT11:53 AM ET11:53 ET15:53 GMT23:53 8:53 AM MST10:53 AM EST11:23 AM VEN19:53 UAE10:53 AM CT-James McCann went 1 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-1. He ended the game with a .164 batting average.
May 10 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-James McCann went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .157 batting average.
May 8 7:03 AM PT8:03 AM MT9:03 AM CT10:03 AM ET10:03 ET14:03 GMT22:03 7:03 AM MST9:03 AM EST9:33 AM VEN18:03 UAE9:03 AM CT-James McCann went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Oakland Athletics 8-6. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .149 batting average.
May 6 9:43 AM PT10:43 AM MT11:43 AM CT12:43 PM ET12:43 ET16:43 GMT0:43 9:43 AM MST11:43 AM EST12:13 PM VEN20:43 UAE11:43 AM CT-James McCann went 0 for 4 Friday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Oakland Athletics 7-2. He ended the game with a .143 batting average.
May 4 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 1 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-2. He ended the game with a .153 batting average.
Apr. 29 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Chicago White Sox 6-4. He ended the game with a .164 batting average.
Apr. 27 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-James McCann went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1. He ended the game with a .173 batting average.
Analysis: McCann went 3 for 8 with a homer and four RBIs in his previous two games.
Apr. 11 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-McCann hit a two-run homer in Tuesday's 2-1 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Three of McCann's four hits in 17 at-bats have left the park.
Apr. 8 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-McCann homered in a second straight game to help the Tigers to Saturday's 4-1 win over Boston.
Analysis: The light-hitting catcher seems to enjoy facing the Red Sox. McCann has homered in four of his last six games against Boston and owns a career .361 average (13 of 36) off Sox pitching. McCann has never faced Rick Porcello, who gets the call for Boston on Sunday, however.
Apr. 7 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-McCann hit a two-run homer and walked Friday against the Red Sox.
Analysis: He went 1 for 6 with two walks in his first two games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Det 9 12 2 3 1 0 0 0 0 2 1 0 .250 .250 .333
2015 Det 114 401 32 106 18 5 7 41 16 90 0 1 .264 .297 .387
2016 Det 105 344 31 76 9 1 12 48 23 109 0 1 .221 .272 .358
2017 Det 54 168 21 38 9 0 9 26 17 48 0 0 .226 .307 .440
Career 282 925 86 223 37 6 28 115 56 249 1 2 .241 .289 .385


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.