MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#28
Vince Velasquez
ERA W-L K
5.13 2-7 68
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 205 NFBC ADP: 182.71
Position: SPBorn: 6/7/1992 Birthplace: Montclair, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Astros (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 11 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Velasquez was placed on the 10-day DL on Friday due to a right middle finger injury, and manager Pete Mackanin was uncertain whether he'll return this season.
Analysis: Velasquez fell to 2-7, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk before leaving Thursday's game against the Mets after one inning. The right-hander had been showing signs of turning around his disappointing season, as he allowed just two runs in 12 innings over his previous two outings.
Aug. 10 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-7, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk before leaving the Philadelphia Phillies' 10-0 loss to the New York Mets on Thursday after one inning due to numbness in his right middle finger. Velasquez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Velasquez has dealt with an assortment of injuries throughout his pro career, so it wouldn't be surprising if the Phillies hold him out for at least one start. The 25-year-old had been showing signs of turning around his disappointing season, as he allowed just two runs in 12 innings over his previous two outings.
Aug. 5 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs on three hits and six walks in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Friday. Velasquez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was a season high in walks for Velasquez, who needed 96 pitches to get through five innings. However, he's been reasonably effective in four starts since the All-Star break with a 3.00 ERA>
July 30 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Velasquez allowed six hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Atlanta Braves 2-1 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He matched a season high with those seven innings.
July 25 7:52 AM PT8:52 AM MT9:52 AM CT10:52 AM ET10:52 ET14:52 GMT22:52 7:52 AM MST9:52 AM EST10:22 AM VEN18:52 UAE9:52 AM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-6, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 3.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Houston Astros 13-4 on Monday. Velasquez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.49 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After holding the Marlins to one earned run in six innings in his return from the DL last Tuesday, Velasquez found the highest-scoring team in the majors to be a much tougher challenge. The former Astro still hasn't won since May 1, having gone 0-4 with a 5.51 ERA over his last seven starts.
July 18 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Velazquez made his first start since he was placed on the disabled list May 31 due to an elbow injury.
May 30 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)6:50 PM CT-Velasquez has been activated from the disabled list and will start Tuesday's game at Miami.
Analysis: The right-hander had been out since late May with a right elbow flexor strain, but threw 74 pitches while allowing one run and two hits over five innings in Thursday's rehab start for Class A Clearwater. Velasquez has recorded 54 strikeouts in 50 innings but has otherwise been inconsistent, having compiled a 2-5 record and a 5.58 ERA in 10 starts.
May 25 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Colorado Rockies 2-1 on Thursday. Velasquez struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.55 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Velasquez threw 70 of his 94 pitches for strikes in an encouraging performance for the right-hander, who was 0-2 with a 6.75 ERA over his previous three starts. He'll next face a Marlins team he beat with 6 1/3 innings of three-run ball back on April 26.
May 20 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-4, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-3 on Saturday. Velasquez struck out six, ending the game with a 5.98 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Velasquez was more effective at the plate, where he went 2 for 2 to raise his season average to .313. On the mound, he's 0-2 with a 6.75 ERA over his last three starts, though the talented right-hander continues to average more than a strikeout per inning.
May 15 6:47 AM PT7:47 AM MT8:47 AM CT9:47 AM ET9:47 ET13:47 GMT21:47 6:47 AM MST8:47 AM EST9:17 AM VEN17:47 UAE8:47 AM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed three runs - two earned - on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Washington Nationals 6-5 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out five, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Velasquez has a 3.38 ERA in three road starts compared to a 7.25 ERA in four home outings.
May 6 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-3, allowing six runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Washington Nationals 6-2 on Saturday. Velasquez struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.94 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander was 2-0 with a 3.63 ERA in his previous three starts.
May 2 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 2-2, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Chicago Cubs 10-2 on Monday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE9:56 AM CT-Velasquez gave up three runs and six hits in 6 1/3 innings Wednesday.
Analysis: Velasquez is 1-2 with a 6.33 ERA in four starts, but this was actually the best of his outings so there might be something to be said for that.
Apr. 13 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Velasquez struggled in a second straight start Wednesday, though he did strike out seven Mets in five innings. The right-hander still took the loss after surrendering five runs and issuing four walks.
Analysis: Velasquez fanned 10 over four frames in Friday's season debut, but served up two homers and permitted four runs to lose to Washington. Though he's been an asset in the strikeout category, the 24-year-old's fantasy stock is currently on a downward trend.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Hou 1 1 0 - 0 19 7 0 55.2 50 28 27 5 21 0 58 1.28 4.37
2016 Phi 8 6 0 - 0 24 24 1 131.0 129 64 60 21 45 1 152 1.33 4.12
2017 Phi 2 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 72.0 74 44 41 15 34 1 68 1.50 5.13
Career 11 14 0 - 0 58 46 1 258.2 253 136 128 41 100 2 278 1.36 4.45

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Phi 24 40 4 8 1 0 0 0 1 16 0 0 .200 .220 .225
2017 Phi 16 24 1 6 0 0 0 1 1 4 0 0 .250 .280 .250
Career 59 64 5 14 1 0 0 1 2 20 0 0 .219 .242 .234


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 864 99 89 93.9 68.09
Curveball 190 86 75 80.8 14.97
Slider 86 90 81 84.5 6.78
Changeup 129 92 84 87.7 10.17

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.